Agricultural, Energy and Environmental Sciences

The agricultural, energy and environmental sciences thematic group is a group of experts dedicated to work that harnesses Africa’s indigenous and exotic bio-resources and energy sources to ensure modern, efficient, reliable, cost-effective, renewable-sustainable and environmentally friendly food, timber and energy delivery systems. The group’s activities focus on the nexus between agriculture, ecosystems health and environment in view to improve Africans’ livelihoods, and foster renewable and sustainable energies uptake and expansion in Africa.

The group of experts produces both applied and basic research, facilitates technology transfer, distills best-learned experiences and technologies relevant to Africa, develops regulatory and policy frameworks, creates awareness in renewable energy and environment, and fosters capacity building. This includes conducting tailored cutting-edge research on people, agriculture ecosystems, energy sources (solar energy, wind energy, hydropower, bio resources such as biomass and waste, fossil fuels including oil and natural gas, geothermal, nuclear, hydrogen, marine and ocean energy etc.), utilization (electrochemical energy storage systems such as batteries, super capacitors, hybrids, fuel cells etc.), energy storage/energy sources integrated systems (solar PV/battery, solar PV/super capacitor, solar PV/battery-super capacitor etc.), environment (atmosphere, climate changes, carbon capture etc.), education (informing policymakers and other decisionmakers, teaching, awareness creation etc.), techno-socio-economic aspects (energy policy, energy economics and marketing, social dimension etc.), systems (energy-food-water-gender nexus, energy and environment modelling, smart infrastructures and cities, life cycle assessment, etc.) for various applications including buildings, industry, transport, and electricity.

The research group strives to support progress towards the UN-2030 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG), and the Agenda 2063 of the African Union. Experts from this group have received support from competitive organizations such as Alexander von Humboldt foundation, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the National Natural Science Foundation of China, and the European Union.



Amrane Abdeltif
University of Rennes 1
Nafiu Abdu
Professor and Head of Department of Soil Science
Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria
Jabir Haruna Abdulkareem
Research Fellow
Institute for Agricultural Research Samaru, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria
Esther Leah Achandi
Post Doctoral Fellow, Gender
The International Livestock Research Institute
Souleimane Adeyemi Adekambi
Assistant Professor
University of Parakou
Ayodeji Stephen Adekanbi
Master Candidate in Renewable Energy
Ojo Johnson Adelakun
Senior Lecturer in Economics
Rasheed Adeleke
Associate Professor
North-West University
Adewale Adesanya
Research Assistant
Michigan Technological University, Houghton, Michigan, U.S.A.
Pyemo Afego
Postdoctoral Fellow
University of Pretoria
Yahaya Abbas Aliyu
Senior Lecturer
Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
Khedidja Allia
Professor of Chemical Engineering and Research Director
University of Sciences and Technology (USTHB)
Teketel Yohannes Anshebo
Addis Ababa University
Chalachew Mebrahtu Asmelash
Postdoctoral Researcher
RWTH Aachen University
Sebastain Awondo
Associate Researcher
The University of Alabama
Sunday Baduku
Science Instructor
Nigerian primary, secondary and tertiary schools
Hugues Baïmey
University of Parakou
Niokhor Bakhoum
Sine-Saloum El-Hadj Ibrahima Niasse University
Adamu Bala
Lecturer II in Geomatics
Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria-Nigeria
Fidèle Barhebwa Balangaliza
Assistant Lecturer, PhD Candidate in Agribusiness
Université Officielle de Bukavu (UOB), Université Catholique de Louvain(UCL)
Rodrigue Bazame
PhD Candidate in Real Estate Development and Management
Ankara University
Adandé Belarmain Fandohan
Associate Professor of Forestry
Ecole de Foresterie Tropicale - Université Nationale d'Agriculture (Benin)
Mohamed Benbouzid
Professor of Electrical Engineering
University of Brest
Dave Berger
Professor of Plant and Soil Sciences
University of Pretoria
Espoir Bisimwa Basengere
Université Catholique de Bukavu

Featured Scientists

Nadia Maïzi
Director of the Center for Applied Mathematics
MINES ParisTech, PSL Research University
Raphael Muamba Tshimanga
Professor of Natural Resources Management
University of Kinshasa
Lucy N. Moleleki
Associate Professor of Microbiology
University of Pretoria